top of page

Eukaryotes and Prokaryotes

Life can be divided up into three domains; Eukaryotes, Bacteria and Archaea. The Eukaryotes includes all animals, plants, fungi and protista. The Bacteria and Archaea can be grouped together as the Prokaryotes. 

Bacterial Cells

Bacterial cells are an example of a prokaryote. They are much smaller than eukaryotic cells. They contain a cytoplasm and a cell membrane surrounded by a cell wall. The main difference is that their genetic material is not enclosed in a nucleus, but can be found as a single DNA loop. There may also be one or more smaller rings of DNA called plasmids.

Eukaryotic Cells


Plant and animal cells are eukaryotic cells. They all contain a cell membrane, cytoplasm and have their genetic material enclosed in a nucleus.

Orders of Magnitude
bottom of page